49th Walnut Valley Festival

September 15 - 19, 2021

National Flat-Picking Championships
Winfield, KS

September 15 - 19, 2021
National Flat-Picking Championships
Winfield, KS

49th Walnut Valley Festival has been postponed to September 2021 due to COVID-19 Concerns

All tickets previously sold for WVF 49 will be valid for entry in September 2021. Tickets are also currently available for purchase.

2012 NewSong Showcase Winners & Alternates

Thursday showcase Saturday showcase
None of Above Below winner: Gary Parent Eddie winner: Joe McElroy Happy Birthday Bill Monroe
alternate: Kenny Cornell Fresh Off the Strings alternate: Mike Benish Can’t Let it Go
Feelin’ Blue winner: David Houser Drivin’ Spikes winner: Gerald Lucas & Bob Runyon Play Hiriam Play
alternate: Jim McCarter  Red Oklahoma Clay alternate: Jill Hobbs Dark Sabine
Children winner: Rosie Best-Cutrer Library Chicken winner: Jolleen Thorpe & Joe McElroy Dance Little Pig
alternate: Sylvia Murray / Nelson Miller Grandma Drives a Tractor alternate: James Brentar Aug the Frog
Winfield winner: Jim Herrman Winfield Marks the Years of My Time winner: Kenny Cornell Come On By
alternate: John Mitchell Best Winfield Ever alternate: Rosie Gorrell Magic Winfield Days
Instrumental winner: Mark Gilston The Green Dulcimer (jig) winner: Jimmy DeHeno Almost Baroque
alternate: Tricia Spencer Snappin’ Jack alternate: Helen Avakian McTammy’s Jig
Religion/Spirit winner: Fred Baue Ghost Train winner: Kay Kugler Take the Next Step
alternate: Sherry Lawson Leap and the Net Will Appear alternate: Peter and Mary Danzig (Otter Creek) Shiver Into Spark
Humor winner: James Brentar  32 Planets winner: Eric Smith Hard to Be Cool
alternate: Gerald Lucas & Bob Runyon Sausage alternate: Robert Tims 90 Miles an Hour
Better World winner: Jason T Brown Rambling Farmer winner: Peter Lippincott Jack the Crow
alternate: Joy Zimmerman Lights Along the Way alternate: Kendra Swanson How to Be
Sweet Memories winner: Lori Holyfield Borrowed Angel winner: Bryan Masters Til the Evening Star Falls
alternate: Anna Smith Beyond the Ridge alternate: Charisse Kahler and Tom Dews Take Me Back to Caroline
Love winner: Justin Roth She Dances winner: Ted Hoffman A Little at a Time
alternate: Rebecca McAnulla Naked Love Song alternate: Ron Land Set You on Fire
Item added to cart.
0 items - $0.00

Office Hours

Post-Festival through May

9am-Noon; 1pm to 5pm

June through August 2nd


August 3rd through September 7th